2020 World Darts Championship odds – MVG 5/4 for fourth title

Posted on: 3rd January 2019

It wasn’t vintage MVG on New Year’s Day as he claimed a third World Darts Championship crown at Alexandra Palace, although the Dutchman was a comfortable enough winner against Michael Smith and the bookies are in little doubt that he’ll be the man to beat next Christmas.

Twelve months is a long time in sport although Van Gerwen is clearly hungry to establish a legacy as the best darts player of all time and William Hill offer a best price 5/4 that the Green Machine claims a fourth title in 2020, with MVG the current world number one.

Perhaps the defeat in the final will be the making of Michael Smith who scored well enough to win against Van Gerwen but was let down by poor finishing in the final reckoning. Bully Boy is a 12/1 shot to claim his first world title and looks determined to bounce back from the defeat.

Smith has time on his side and did reach the Premier League Darts final last season so he has to be respected, while Gary Anderson isn’t going anywhere after a brilliant season and the Flying Scotsman will continue to work hard on his game.

Ando is 6/1 with William Hill to win his own third world title and he was on the verge of being world number one at time last year, with Van Gerwen certainly not having things his own way.

Peter Wright is the world number three for now and Paddy Power make Snakebite a 16/1 chance to win his maiden world championship title at Ally Pally, although preference is for Daryl Gurney who is open to much sharper improvement and he’s on offer at 33/1 with BetVictor.

Gerwyn Price is trading at a meaty 33/1 with William Hill and his defeat against Nathan Aspinall doesn’t seem as bad when you consider the latter reached the semi-final stage of the competition only to lose to Smith.

Van Gerwen is a 5/6 chance to win the forthcoming Premier League, with Raymond van Barneveld the rank outsider at 66/1 to claim the title in his farewell year.

moplay free bet

Bet £10 Get £30

1. Place one bet of at least £10 or more at odds of 1.50 or higher to get 2 x £15 in free bets within one hour of bet settlement. 2. Free bets will expire 7 days from issue. 3. The following bets will not count as qualifying bets: bets placed at starting price (SP), tricast, forecast and system bets. 4. You must opt in to receive this promotion by clicking ‘Accept’ when prompted by the pop up which appears after your qualifying bet has settled. 5. Available to UK residents and over 18s only.

Join Now

Bet £10 Get £30

New UK & Ireland customers only. Min Deposit: £10. First deposit matched up to £30. 1 x wagering at odds of 1.75+ to unlock Free Bet. Credit Card, Debit Card & PayPal deposits only.

Join Now
ladbrokes bookmakers

Bet £5 Get £20

18+ New UK+IRE customers. Paypal and certain deposit types and bet types excluded. Min £5 bet within 14 days of account reg at min odds 1/2 = 4 x £5 free bets. Free bets valid for 4 days on sports, stake not returned, restrictions apply. T&Cs apply.

Join Now

Bet £10 Get £30 Free Bets

New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns

Join Now
betvictor free bet

Bet £5 Get £30

Deposit and bet £5 qualifying bet within 7 days, min odds 2.00. Receive 2 x £10 Free Sports Bets, Plus £10 Casino Bonus. Credit/Debit Card deposits only. 18+ T&Cs apply

Join Now
william hill bookmakers

Bet £10 Get £30

New Online Customers Only. Min £10 stake, win only, min odds 1/2. Free Bet/Payment method/Country Restrictions apply. 18+ T&Cs apply

Join Now